jump to navigation

Damn Feelings November 27, 2012

Posted by shelleygblog in Uncategorized.
trackback

Emotions….we refer to them as “feelings”. When feelings get hurt, we say we are “sensitive”. It is all assumed to be metaphorical, but I believe we manifest emotions in very physical ways. (There is a zing that zips down my torso and back up to my mouth during a really good kiss, or the ice ball I feel high in my stomach when dread comes…). I sat with some pain this weekend and  felt heartache. Now, it was obviously not really the muscle that hurt, but I had a squeezing pain that sat at the base of my sternum and reached sideways around my ribs and back again. Okay, say it…”so what?” But I learned something. We can work with physical pain, manage it, talk it down, breath through it; we have something tangible to tackle and we can see logical steps to a desired end. This is not always so clear for emotional states. So my goal is this: whatever comes, feel it….ride it…stretch it, massage it, warm it; take the steps just as if it were a diagnostic. It may do nothing but buy time to gain perspective, but that may be all we need.

Oh, so easy…..
But really, feeling life is living it. I would rather be in the game than on the sidelines, and pain will always be present, but thankfully, only recognizable against the backdrop of pleasure.
Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

