jump to navigation

The Bystander August 13, 2014

Posted by shelleygblog in Uncategorized.
trackback

I peek through a crack in your skull,
spy your possibility.
Any mercy you bundle swims trapped under murky water.
A fence marks the line between allowing me regard,
and the field where you lose your own glory.
What breaks if you dump a bucket at my feet,
instead of scrap?
Crumbs; no banquet…others, more distant and disconnected from your path,
dine raucously.
I study them, more perplexed than envious,
before I weaken like ice shrinking under a scalding stream.
The only feast before me abundant tears, loss, waste.
Where is my shelter? Separation, starvation cause me shivers.
Invite me to feed.
I will dance with,
but cannot always dance,
for you.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

